The LongROAD Study – Longitudinal Research on Aging Drivers

Summary

In 2016 there were 41.5 million licensed older drivers 65 years or older. This age group is growing faster than any other age group. Older drivers 75-79 saw the largest single-year percentage increase (4.98 percent over the previous year).  Although driving allows older adults to meet their mobility needs and to stay independent, a number of age-related functional impairments, medical conditions and medication side effects can compromise driving abilities.

To understand and meet the safe mobility needs of older adult drivers, the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety (AAAFTS) launched the Longitudinal Research on Aging Drivers study (LongROAD) with the goals to:

  • Better understand the major protective and risk factors of safe driving in older adults
  • Assess the effects of medical conditions and medications on driving behavior and safety
  • Investigate the mechanisms through which older adults self-regulate their driving behaviors to cope with functional declines as they age
  • Determine the extent, use and effects of new vehicle technology and aftermarket vehicle adaptations among older drivers
  • Identify the determinants and health consequences of driving cessation during the process of aging

 

Study sites

Basset Research Institute

Contact Address: Bassett Research Institute
One Atwell Road
Cooperstown, NY 13326
(607) 547-3676

Bassett Medical Center Site

Cobbleskill Study Site

Team

David Strogatz, Ph.D
Site Principal Investigator
David.strogatz@bassett.org

Thelma J. Mielenz, Ph.D
Site Principal Investigator
TJM2141@cumc.columbia.edu

Andrew Johnson
Project Coordinator
Andrew.johnson@bassett.org

Johns Hopkins University

Contact address: John Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health
Department of Health, Behavior, and Society
624 N. Broadway, Hampton House, Suite 706
Baltimore, MD 21205
Telephone: (410) 502-5675

 

Fallstaff Study Site

East Baltimore Campus Study Site

Team

Vanya Jones, Ph.D., MPH
Site Principal Investigator
vjones@jhu.edu

Taylor D. Parnham, MPH
Project Coordinator
tparnha1@jhu.edu

University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute

Team

David W. Eby, Ph.D.
Site Principal Investigator
eby@umich.edu

Lisa J. Molnar, Ph.D.
Site Principal Investigator
ljmolnar@umich.edu

Lindsay H. Ryan, Ph.D.
Site Principal Investigator
linryan@umich.edu

Linda V. Nyquist. Ph.D.
Project Coordinator
lnyquist@umich.edu

Renée M. St. Louis, MPH
Project Coordinator
rstloui@umich.edu

Nicole Zanier, BA
Project Coordinator
nzanier@umich.edu

University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus

Contact Address: University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
12469 E. 17th Pl.
Bldg. 400, Room Q09-125
Mail Stop F423
Aurora, CO, 80045
(303)724-7870

 

Study Site

 

Team

Marian E. Betz, MD, MPH
Site Principal Investigator
Marian.Betz@ucdenver.edu

Carolyn DiGuiseppi, MD, MPH, Ph.D.
Site Principal Investigator
Carolyn.DiGuiseppi@ucdenver.edu

Burlleen Hewitt
Project Coordinator
burlleen.hewitt@ucdenver.edu

University of California, San Diego

La Jolla Professional Center

Team

Linda L. Hill, MD, MPH
Site Principal Investigator
longroadstudy@ucsd.edu

Natalie Moursund
Project Coordinator
longroadstudy@ucsd.edu

Data Coordinating Site

Columbia University

Columbia University
622 West 168th St. PH5-505
New York, NY 10032

 

Team

Guohua Li, Ph.D., MPH
Site Principal Investigator
gl2240@cumc.columbia.edu

Barbara Lang, MPH
Project Coordinator
bl2309@cumc.columbia.edu

Howard F. Andrews, PhD
Director of the Data Coordinating Center
Howard.Andrews@nyspi.columbia.edu

 

Download Response Cards

 

Latest Research